Oh so shiny

May 25, 2009 § 3 Comments

My ring is so shiny and sparkly it’s full on distracting! Here’s the story of how I got it

A year and a day ago, I was at home sick in my bed, talking to my best friend on MSN, when he decided to call me and ask me if I would be his girlfriend. He rang me at 10:57pm, and we talked about it as if I had said yes for about 20 minutes, but I hadn’t actually given him an answer. So at 11:17pm I rang him back and gave him the answer – ‘yes!’.

Last night, the 22nd of May, James kidnapped me to celebrate our first year together. I had my suspicions that something might happen, but I didn’t want to boost my hope in case I would be let down. Anyways, we first went to his house to dump his bag there (and pick up the ring!! which he had had for almost 2 weeks!!), then we went to San Churro, a chocolateria which is BETTER than Max Brenner! Crazy! We loaded up on chocolate until I was well and truly beyond full.
From there we went to Manly to the café where we had our first real date. We only had a short stop there for Diet Coke, cause they were closing, which was a bit sad.

After that he took me to Shelly Beach, a little place right next to Manly, where we also went on our first date. There’s an outlook over the ocean there, right on top of a cliff, and the beach is sort of coved in on the other side. It was crazy weather and the waves were huge, it was so cool! I think we arrived at around 10pm, and we went for a little walk on the little beach, and nearly got caught by the tide. I knew we were both waiting for the time to turn 10:57pm, and I was sort of still suspecting/hoping something would happen then, but 10:57pm came and nothing really happened. I must admit I was a little disappointed.

James suggested we walked back to the outlook, so we did and we sat down on the bench there and just talked for a little bit. I couldn’t feel it, but apparently James had a friend (thanks Ryan!) send him a text at 11:17pm so that his phone would buzz and he would know that it was time. I remember James saying his hands were cold, so he put them inside his jacket, reaching into his pocket for the ring, and held it in his hand for a few minutes. I know there was a lot of beautiful words being said, I just can’t remember them word for word, but he ended up taking my hand, looking me in the eyes and saying ‘I hope you won’t make me wait 20 minutes for an answer this time – will you do the adventure with me, will you marry me?’

I believe everyone can figure out themselves that I of course said yes (actually, I said ok.. lame), but yes. I GET TO MARRY MY BEST FRIEND!!!!! How blessed am I !!!!!

xoxo

shiny

§ 3 Responses to Oh so shiny

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh so shiny at H O P E.

meta

